2018 Best Mentor Award Winners


Best Clinical Mentor: Darlene Metter, MD

Dr. Metter was awarded the Best Clinical Mentor Award for her dedication to guiding and developing nuclear medicine physicians. She is a professor and distinguished educator at the University of Texas. She has a strong record of leadership in education and training through ACNM, the SNMMI Academic Council, AUR, ACR, RSNA and ABR. She is a member of the Editorial Board of Clinical Nuclear Medicine. A number of Dr. Metter’s residents are active in nuclear medicine leadership.


Best Personal Mentor: Hossein Jadvar, MD, PhD, MPH, MBA, FACNM, FSNMMI

Dr. Jadvar is the Associate Professor of Radiology at the Keck School of Medicine and Associate Professor of Biomedical Engineering at the Viterbi School of Engineering, both at the University of Southern California. He was awarded the Best Personal Mentor Award for his modeling humility, approachability, and work-life balance to trainees.  For example, expecting and modeling a high level of clinical excellence with his trainees, but never forgetting to send them each birthday messages.  Dr. Jadvar was recognized for encouraging and rewarding hard work and professionalism, while building a high level of trust and mutual respect with both his colleagues and his trainees.